Skip To Content


Be Continued Michigan 2020

City Council


During the pandemic all meetings of the Highland Park City Council will be virtual.  The City of Highland Park will provide a hyperlink on this website ( at least 30 minutes before the start of council meeting. This link will contain step by step instructions on how to attend the virtual meeting. The City will utilize video conference software that is designed for the highest compatibility of devices (Personal Computers, Laptops, Tablets, Smartphones and/or a call-in number). In addition, the website will contain step by step instructions on how to view and/or listen to the meeting on the aforementioned devices.

Submit Questions Here

The website will also contain a form that can be used to submit questions to the council before or during the virtual meeting. These questions will be read by a member of the Clerk's Office along with any other information normally requested during an in person public comment section. The City will make the best effort to ensure these meetings are held with minimal technological disruption in providing the live stream. The stream will also provide an option for closed captions during the stream.

Please click the link below to join the webinar:

Join The Meeting

Or by Telephone:
Dial(for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location):
 US: +1 346 248 7799  or
+1 669 900 6833  or
+1 253 215 8782  or
+1 301 715 8592  or
+1 312 626 6799  or
+1 929 205 6099
  Webinar ID: 361 243 988
  International numbers available: Click Here for those options

If you are unable to utilize any of these options due to an impairment, please contact the City Clerk's office within 72 hours at 313-252-0050 ext 220.

Pursuant to the Highland Park Charter, Chapters 5 and 6, the City Council of Highland Park is comprised of 5 members; 2 at-large and one from each council district. The council exercises all of the legislative powers of the city, except as otherwise stated by law, and provides for the public’s peace and health, and for the safety of persons and property.


The council meets in regular session in the established Council Chamber on the 1st and 3rd Monday of each month. The Highland Park City Clerk provides an agenda of business to be considered at each regular Council meeting, and except, when this rule is waived by the affirmative vote of three members of council, no item of business may be placed on the agenda unless notice thereof was filed in the office of the Clerk by noon on the third working day proceeding each Friday before the regular meeting. A quorum is reached when there are at least 3 council members to transact the business of the city. In the absence of a full quorum, the meeting can be adjourned until such time as a quorum has been reached. Click here to view the 2021 meeting schedule. The Reference page has an archive of council minutes and agendas.

Members 2020 - 2022

Carlton Clyburn
Carlton Clyburn
Council President


Rodney Patrick
Council President Pro Tem

Deblon Jackson
Council Member, District 1

Kendrich Bates
Council Member, District 2

Derrick Armstron

Derrick Armstrong
Council Member, District 3